2017 Open Competitions and Results

2017 Prize Giving

Newton Stewart Golf Club held their annual prize giving event on Saturday to celebrate an exceptional year for the club.

Of the eight Wigtownshire and South gents Trophies available Newton Stewart won six of them, this included the Dalrymple Cup (Scratch), the B and Senior Leagues and the Wigtownshire Two Ball team event.

Club member David Brodie also won the Order of Merit and was South of Scotland Champion. He was also part of the three man South Championship winning team along with Alan White and David McCreadie Junior. 

The Ladies Section fared well also winning the League and Anderson Trophies.

Also celebrating their successes on Saturday night were those members who won Club Trophies and open competitions throughout the year.

Ladies Section:

McHarrie Trophy - Anne Blows

Dusty's Medal, Vets Rosebowl - Pat McGill

Moore Trophy - Pat McGill and Janet Hughes

Margaret Baird - Mary Campbell and Sally Moore

McHaffie Gordon Rosebowl, Ulster Cup, Medal Winners Shield - Helena Fox

Morton Cup, Petrie Trophy - Vanessa Ho

Kirroughtree Cup, Club Champion- Sally Moore

Healthy Lifestyle - Heather Inman

Ruth's Rosebowl - Mary Campbell

Four Ball Better Ball - Pauline Cawthra with Christine Brown (WC)

Thornton Trophy - Pat McGill and Pauline Cawthra

Cloy Trophy - Alison Cloy

Gladrags Trophy - Joyce Maitland and Morag McLean

Clydesdale Cup - Pauline Cawthra

Violet Cup - Vanessa Ho and Jade Ho

Gents Section:

Winter Eclectic (singles) - Gary Banka

Winter Eclectic (pairs) - Bobby Whannel and Ollie Gault

Knock-out shield - Chris Kirkpatrick and Jimmy Haswell

McDonald Cup - Willie McKie

Ken Miller Greensomes - Chris Kirkpatrick and Justin Moore

Subway Open - Jim Stirling

Gordon Scratch Cup - David Brodie

Armitage Medal - Alan White

Inchra Cup - Connor Bennewith

Doocot Cup - Willie McKie

Black Horse Greensomes - Peter Hughes and Hamish Hughes

Wrinkle Bowl - John Sawyer

Kirroughtree Salver - Scott Whannel

A & R Matthews Quaich - Walter Orr

Senior Open - Andy Strain

Hammy Trophy - Richard Neil

Healthy Lifestyle - Liam Muir

Summer Eclectic (handicap) - Matt Burton

Summer Eclectic (scratch) - Alec Johnstone

White Box Eclectic - Alec Johnstone

Galloway Motor Company 3 man team - Chris Kirkpatrick, Tommy Monteith and Willie McKie

Baird Matthews Trophy - Alan White

Captain's Prize - Craig McWilliam

Gifford Cup - Justin Moore

Central Bar - Gary Banka and Bobby Hughan

Brown Cup - Scott Whannel and Bobby Whannel

Alex Simpson - Bobby Hughan

Club Champion - Connor Bennewith

Congratulations also to our medal winners and league participants on their efforts throughout the year.

Thornton Trophy Winners 2017

Newton Stewart Golf Club Ladies held the Thornton Trophy on Saturday October 7th with home course players, Pauline Cawthra and Pat McGill carding an excellent score of 70.4 to secure the Trophy.

The event had been rearranged from earlier in the season due to inclement weather.

In second place were Newton Stewart's Helena Fox and Angela Potter with a score of 76.6.

Angela also carded a magnificent hole in one at the par three second, on the lower course. Congratulations to Angela on a wonderful shot.

In third place were Cilla Strain and Susan Bell with a 76.8.

Twos were recorded by Cilla and Susan and Elizabeth Leggat and Gina Crebbin (Dunskey).

Subway Gents Open 2017 Winners


              1st Class 

 1st : Bob Graham  73 - 5 = 68

 2nd : Alan White   73 - 4 = 69

3rd : Jordan Whiteside 75 - 6 = 69

4th : Tommy Monteith 74 - 4 = 70

          2nd Class

1st : Jim Stirling  81 - 15 = 66   Overall Winner

2nd : Robert Middleton  82 - 14 = 68

3rd : Jim Maginess  88 - 18 = 70

4th : Liam Muir  93 - 21 = 72

2017 Morton Cup Results


Overall Winner : Vanessa Ho 92 - 27 = 65

Punchbowl Winners 2017

1st: G.Coulter & K.McWilliam = 39 Points

2nd: S.Moore & J.Moore 37 Points

3rd: R.Neill & J.Maitland 36 Points

Kirby Group & Farrans Construction & Scottish Power Renewables 4 Man Texas Scamble Winners 2017

2017 Dalrymple Cup Winners 

Congratulatuions  to Newton Stewart on Retaining the Dalrymple Cup. The final was a cagey affair with Newton Stewart initially taking the initiative before Stranraer put a surge on with a few holes to go to get within one hole of the winning post but Newton Stewart held their nerve and pushed again to win the holes they needed to make it all square in matches and tied on countback. And with the light fading due to the delayed started this meant a playoff with all teams playing an extra hole until there was an aggregate winner. After all four pairs had played the first hole Newton Stewart had their noses in front and won the trophyThe team are pictured below. From left to right: F.Hughes, D.Brodie, W.Orr Jnr. Captain Roy McClymont, C.Mcwilliam Snr, R.Hughan Jnr, G.Hoodless, A.White ( Not Pictured T.Monteith )

2017 Galloway Gazette Texas Scramble Results

1st: R.Hardie,  K.Hardie, R.Graham, C.Taylor (Stranraer) - 60 - 4.9 = 55.1

2nd: G.Coulter, K. McWilliam, A.Smith, H Johnston (Wigtownshire County) - 59 - 3 = 56 BIH

3rd: S.Whannel, C.Mckie, A.Mckie, C.Bennewith (Newton Stewart) - 58 - 2 = 56

Margaret Baird Quaich 2017 winners

1st: Mary Campbell and Sally Moore   88 - 25.2 = 62.8

2nd: Helena Fox and Morag Mclean  84 - 21 = 63

3rd: Nita Best and Vanessa Ho  95 - 28.8 = 66.2

4th: Pat Magill and Pauline Cawthra  81 - 14.4 = 66.6

Ladies League and Gents B League Winners With The Dalrymple Cup Winners 2017



Click the relevant links to the Masters Scoreboard for gents' or ladies' scores.

1st: D.Armstrong, R.McBeth, C.Scobie, S.Hislop  57 - 8 = 56.2

2nd: S.McCallum, R.Bailey, R.Ferries, R.Jackson 63 - 6.3 = 56.7

3rd: K.McClung, J.Barrowman, J.Caldwell, G.Smith 62 - 4.2 = 57.8

4th: P.Cruickshank, G.Mooney, J.Parker, S.Sneddon  64 - 6 = 58